Taco Truck

OK this is the first post for my new blog so this is a tremendous occasion and should be celebrated as such. What better start to this than to talk about the ever so amazing Taco Truck… Wait… What? You haven’t heard of the Taco Truck? Well first of all… shame on you, secondly we need to give you a little background on the Food Van revolution. Made famous in L.A, food vans and pop-up restaurants call upon there many fans through social networks and draw massive flash crowds.

Flash Crowd patiently waiting for their tacos

Flash Crowd patiently waiting for their tacos

The time is 3:30pm on a Wednesday and trolling through post after post on Facebook the ever so hilarious LOL cats and political anarchism has left me bored with life, when I stumble across the Taco Truck’s latest location post for the night. My eyes light up and my mouth begins to salivate as i begin to plot my route for the night ahead…

Today we travel to Mr Wilkinsons Bar in Brunswick… I pull up at 6:45 as I park I can already see the crowd amassed by the Taco Truck outside the pub on a sultry summer evening. The crowd of bohemian hipsters wait patiently some with drinks in hand to help pass the time… The menu for this evening is Fish Tacos, Chicken Tacos, and Potato Tacos.

My mind was made up well before I had arrived, just hoping that they hadn’t sold out already… As I make my order as clinical as if I was in the presence of the Soup Nazi, totally not necessary but in terms of efficiency I am a fantastic customer. The wait time is not an issue when it comes to the taste of these moreish flavour vessels.

Soon enough my name is called and the glorious white cardboard platter is handed to me… My Taco plate has arrived!

Chicken & Fish tacos

Chicken & Fish tacos

2 fresh soft hand made corn tortillas layered with fresh red cabbage slaw, freshly squeezed lime juice, and lightly battered white fish accompanied by zingy poppy mayo with a side of freshly cooked corn chips.
The next decision is always the hardest… to spice up with the Salsa Verde or to go al natural.

Best eaten as fresh as possible but seriously who could wait to stuff these morsels into there gullet.

The fresh taste of the slaw, and crispiness of the fish is welcoming to my pallet, but it’s the mayo and the lime juice that steals the show giving a zingy flavour explosion unlike no other.

With a fantastic partnership of a couple of pots of Kirin from the bar, my night is now complete…

For information where you can find the taco truck and other pop up restaurants checkout wherethetruck.at

Leave a Reply

